Kitchens and Their Necessities

When it comes to kitchens, it can be easy to let things pile up on the counters and in the fridge. I know that I am guilty of this. It can be really hard for me to maintain my kitchen sometimes. I am hoping that with this week’s blog post I can eliminate some of the clutter and disorganization of my kitchen as well as yours! There is an endless supply of organization tips out there in the world, but this week I am going to focus on my favorite 5. Enjoy!

1. Have a junk drawer or even a junk tray!

junk-drawer

I can’t stress this enough. It may not be everyone’s style, but I love this tip. My family has had a junk tray my whole life and it’s where all of the knick knacks and loose changes and other odd ends go to keep them off the counters. I remember once when the junk tray (we more affectionately called it the bunny tray) disappeared. It was chaos! There were random papers and coins everywhere! We were all happy when the bunny tray made it home. Long story short, having a place to store random things is great because it will help to keep clutter off of your counters and kitchen space.

2. Pantry organization

Pantry-Closet-Shelving-Ideas-Interior

I’m not sure if that’s what they are really called. But if your pantry does not already have the magical (and space-saving!) over the door storage unit, then you need to get one today!! They are amazing. I typically use mine to store spices, condiments, dressings, and some soup mixes, but it keeps those things out of the main pantry shelves, giving you more room! As far as main pantry organization goes, it is a good idea to have sections for certain foods. For example all canned food would be in one space, all baking needs in another. This makes it so easy for you to know exactly where something is when you need it!

3. Pots and pans

69c57156c33c93e91175685b67b481d6 bbc3bb22a37c04f10d674ecc5c1e06e0

I have encountered several tips and tricks for organizing those pesky pots and pans and their lids. I have yet to try any personally, but here are a few for you and me to maybe try out in the future! The first is to pick up a tension rod and hooks at the local hardware store and hang them up in the lower cabinets. This is a great way to organize your pots and pans. Another way would just be to simply stack them by size. This would be less work in the short term, but would require maintenance over time as you would always have to rearrange pots according to sizes. Either tip should work really well!

4. The brilliance of tupperware containers

756ba58e3ff1a1439092eefd30818add

Want a great way to keep cereal fresh? How about a way to easily store all baking supplies? Pasta? Oats? Look no further!! Tupperware containers are here for you! I love tupperware. They come in so many shapes and sizes, there will almost certainly be a container to fit whatever need you have. If you buy consistently from the same brand, chances are that they will be the same shapes and will fit together nicely, making pantry, cabinet, and even countertop organization a breeze!

5. Cleaning supplies

4a55ee1ceb356dc8aaf06b1f834252e8

Most everyone I know stores their cleaning supplies under the sink in the kitchen. I know I do! Otherwise, it would be wasted space because you can’t store food under there. The best tip I can give you is having a cleaning caddy or bin. Organize all the basic necessities for cleaning in this bin that way when you are about to clean, all you have to do is pull out that one bin! Yay!

Well that’s it for this week’s post. I hope everyone enjoyed it!

Thanks!
🙂 Kaelyn

2 thoughts on “Kitchens and Their Necessities

  1. The idea of a junk draw is perfect! Sometimes I feel like no mater how organized I am, there just isn’t a place for certain things. So a junk draw is a perfect place for all of the little miscellaneous items. And I completely agree with your section about tupperware, it’s a great thing to use!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve really enjoyed your blog. Of course, the last two posts were the most relevant to me. What I love is – along with your great design ideas, you also have great space saving ideas!

    Like

Leave a comment